Post #4: Guerilla Art

Guerilla art is something to be appreciated by the public, literally, outside on a light pole, garbage can, sidewalk or university campus. It’s pretty unconventional if you ask me… Mass and volume are means of critiquing 3 dimensional art on a range of canvases and mediums. (Fox and Schirrmacher, 2014).

A random act of kindness!

Guerilla art is a mobile, fun, innovative form of visual art taking place outside and typically reflects multiple messages. I wanted my guerilla art to be meaningful to individuals in the downtown area. Memorable quotes and inspirational wisdom left in unexpected corners waiting to uplift the next curious passerby. I find solace in leaving wise reminders around my home, I think everyone deserves to be inspired and reminded to take a moment to stop, reflect, and smell the roses.

Letters of inspiration -Nejood
Letters of inspiration -Nejood
-Nejood
-Nejood
-Nejood
-Nejood
-Nejood
-Nejood
Stranger finding gift - Nejood
Stranger finding gift – Nejood

Guerilla art is a selfless art form; it is an expression of art where the artist does not take claim for their expression and contains aspects of impermanence. I put together several sticky notes filled with motivational quotes, some by well-known authors, some from Disney movies, and others that I wrote myself and place them on the steps of the Ryerson Student Centre. There are often times when we forget how important it is to stop and just breathe, and have some fun! Little gestures of encouragement can make the biggest impact on people’s lives, even if it is a stranger.

11130277_10155348355775322_4453056413321669042_n
Guerilla Art – Nimra
10605993_10155348353690322_616152225513122866_n
Guerilla Art – Nimra
11094720_10155348354925322_8997532760922899517_n
Guerilla Art – Nimra

I realize that you can make your life easier by doing things that stem from your interests and passions – yep just like in ECE! I wanted to give the parents from the preschool class I work in a dose of inspiration and encouragement – who doesn’t need that! I stuck sticky notes of encouragement specifically for parents, on each child’s cubby for the parents to read. I am not going to lie, felt a little bit like a saint! (blushes). Guerilla art is a great tool to preform selfless acts while also promoting creativity.

Guerilla Art - Rhema
Guerilla Art – Rhema
11099779_10206615166437396_520180335_n
Guerilla Art – Rhema
IMG_1514
Heather
IMG_1515
Heather

Since I felt nervous, I chose a comfortable setting, and an ephemeral medium (chalk). I arrived early to the Ryerson Campus because i knew my chalk art project would take me almost an hour. Life can get too serious and adults forget to have fun so I decided to create a colourful hop-scotch and I dared people to try it. People’s reactions were all positive. Students, children and staff smiled as I worked and when it was complete I sat back watched people’s smiles and reactions.

Fox, J. E., & Schirrmacher, R. (2014). Art and creative development for young children(8th Ed.). Belmont, CA: Delmar.

Leave a Reply

